Go on a discovery of what used to be the third biggest town in Artois
Through its history, Vieil-Hesdin has known multiple masters, among wich the Counts of Artois, of Flanders, the King of France, the Dukes of Burgundy. Between 1475 and 1553, the city was ruled by seven different masters and suffered ten sieges. It has been Burgundian, Austrian, Franch and Spanish. In 1553, Charles Quint orders, at the end of a last siege, its complete desctruction.
The "Friends of the historical site of the old Hesdin association" aims to make you discover or rediscover the history of the old Hesdin, the crafts and trades, and the city at the Middle Ages. Come and seek the old traces of the ancient city of Hesdin !
Every saturday of the month
from 14:00 to 17:30
Min. 5 persons
Duration 1h and 30min - 5 kms
Wear walking shoes or runners (moats of the fortifications often soggy).
Historic enclosure + guided walk
Children, students, members of the association
Free (except school group; with student card)
Group ( + 10 persons)
2€/person (historic enclosure + guided walk + explanatory booklet).